Seder, the ceremonial meal that family and friends share on the first and second nights of Passover, can present a challenge to vegetarian cooks. Not just because the symbolic meal features meat (a roasted lamb shank bone is traditional on the seder plate), but also because the list of foods that can't be eaten during Passover includes most grains and, in some Jewish cultures, allbeans and legumes. To sidestep the ingredient dilemma, entertaining expert Myra Kornfeld has put together a seder menu that uses some ingenious twists (quinoa in a crustless pie; almond flour in a chocolate mousse cake) and highlights the bounty of spring. The result? A flavorful, seasonal feast worthy of a holiday occasion.
THE VEG SEDER PLATE
A traditional seder plate features six symbolic foods, including a roasted lamb shank bone. Vegetarians often use a fresh beet in place of the shank bone (shown). For a vegan variation, you could also swap an avocado pit for the roasted egg.